I think this deserves a WP post because it will be longish and in my experience such posts on FB tend to get messy so here we go:

Ever since I started writing ORIGINS I’ve noticed the increasingly heavy presence of what I am going to cal my “Writer’s Brain” – That is the part of my brain that seems to be entirely devoted to my characters and my story and it NEVER stops working, Several times this has come in handy because I’ll be doing stuff (Usually trying to sleep) and suddenly out of nowhere – BOOM – an idea hits and suddenly I can imagine a way to fix a problem in my story, Several times my characters have found themselves in a spot if trouble and I’ve had no clue how to get them out and one of those sudden insights has helped me out tremendously.

It’s for that reason i don’t normally complain about my WB but more and more as the story develops I can hear my WB going over things and over things AND over things, Last night while laying in bed TRYING to sleep for example I had another one of those insights which has helped me tie up a few loose ends that I didn’t even realise were loose but then it kept going and I found myself thinking “This can happen or after ‘x’ this can happen” except none of those things need to happen anytime soon and in one case it might not even happen until the second book – YIKES!

In general I’m not complaining too much as I’ve said my WB has proven useful and I don’t think I’d want to turn it off permanently because then I would have half a story and probably no way to finish it and that would be worse I think.

Anyone had any similar experiences? Is it possible to think the story through without skipping huge chunks of it (i.e. Create the middle rather than get stuck thinking of the ending?)

Rant Over – Back to life – Which probably requires a whole other rant.

MJD

